Due to CoronVirus COVID-19, all games have been suspended, all bookings are on hold.

FIFA Club World Cup quarter-finals preview: Tigres vs. Ulsan Hyundai (Thu - 17:00h. GMT+3; 08:00h. GMT-6; 23:00h. GMT+9; 15:00h. CET; 14:00h. GMT) - Team news, possible lineups

Tigres and Ulsan Hyundai get the Club World Cup underway on Thursday afternoon as they bid to reach the semi-finals.

While Auckland City's fixture with Al-Duhail had been due to kick off the tournament, the New Zealand outfit withdrew from the competition due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Match preview

Having emerged as a force on the domestic scene in recent years, Mexican side Tigres were able to claim their first CONCACAF Champions League crown at the end of 2020.

Their triumph over Los Angeles FC came a year after their defeat in the 2019 final, reaffirming that they now deserve their standing as the best team on the continent.

Since returning to action on January 10, Ricardo Ferretti's side have claimed seven points from four games in Mexico's top flight, their one defeat coming at top-of-the-table Santos Laguna.

However, sitting just one point behind the early pacesetters, Ferretti will be satisfied with the club's start to the season ahead of their appearance in Qatar.

New arrival Carlos Gonzalez has made a strong start to life at Estadio Universitario with two goals coming from his first three appearances.

While Tigres have played four competitive fixtures since the start of the year, opponents Ulsan have not been in action since the conclusion of the AFC Champions League in December.

The South Korean side were outstanding throughout that competition, winning all nine of their matches and conceding just six goals in the process.

Hong Myong-bo's side had to come from behind to defeat Persepolis in the final with club legend Junior Negao netting a double either side of half time.

However, the 34-year-old has since left Ulsan, increasing the pressure on new arrival Kim Ji-Hyeon to make an instant impression for the Tigers.

Ulsan last featured in this competition in 2012, losing their opening fixture to Japanese side Sanfrecce Hiroshima by a 3-2 scoreline.

Tigres form (all competitions): WWWLWD

Ulsan Hyundai form (all competitions): WWWWWW

Team News

Gonzalez and Andre-Pierre Gignac feature in the Tigres squad despite missing the last league fixture through injury.

Ferratti is likely to give the attacking pair every chance to prove their fitness, although they may have to make do with a place on the substitutes' bench.

Jason Davidson is expected to line up on the left-hand side of Ulsan's defence, while Shin Hyung-mincould be handed a debut.

Lukas Hinterseer may only be named among the replacements after his switch from Hamburg.

Tigres possible starting lineup:
Guzman; Rodriguez, Reyes, Salcedo, Duenas; Carioca, Pizarro; L.Quinones, Fernandez, Aquino; J.Quinones

Ulsan Hyundai possible starting lineup:
Su-hak, Tae-hwan, Ki-hee, Bulthuis, Davidson; Dong-jun, Bit-garam, Du-jae, Hyung-min, In-sung; Ji-hyeon

Source: Sports Mole / Darren Plant 

 

 

 

Older Post
Newer Post

Leave a comment

Close (esc)

Popup

Use this popup to embed a mailing list sign up form. Alternatively use it as a simple call to action with a link to a product or a page.

Age verification

By clicking enter you are verifying that you are old enough to consume alcohol.

Search

Ticket Booking

You do not have any bookings at the moment.
Browse Football Matches